Skip to content

Splurge or Save : Make-Up Edition

saveorsplurge

I tend to find that in the make-up world, not all products are equal. Sometimes it’s necessary to spend a little more. But other times, there are pricy products that are not worth the extra moola. Instead of wasting your money on products that are not worth their price tag, you could save and buy something at half the cost that works ten times better. That way you can afford to splurge on the products that are really worth it.

In my trials and tribulations in the make-up world, I’ve come up with a list on products that are worth the splurge, and products that you’re better off opting for the cheaper version.


Lipstick : Splurge or Save

Lipstick is an item you can save on. Specifically if you are like me and you don’t wear it every single day. But also because I found a brand with a better price available than some of the higher priced brands. I’ve seen some lipsticks go for as high as $30 a piece. They aren’t necessarily bad lipsticks, they’re actually pretty good. But that’s still a pretty darn expensive lipstick. L.A. Splash Cosmetics, however, has products that are just as great (if not slightly better), and they only cost $14 a piece. Plus, a lot of times, you can find a coupon online to get the price even lower. For me, that’s what I would call a win win.


Nail Polish : Splurge and Save

The reason I would give for splurging on a nail polish is that it’s not necessarily something you would change everyday (at least, most people don’t) so it needs to last for longer than a day. I change my polish once a week, so that’s how long it needs to stay looking fabulous. I would say that specifically, getting a good top coat is the #1 priority for a long-lasting manicure. The good news, is that in order to get a product like this, you don’t actually have to splurge. Revlon’s Extra Life™ No Chip Top Coat is an excellent choice. I’ve found it online listed anywhere from $4.60 – $6.50. This is the save part. I use it every time I do my nails with great results.

Here’s the splurge part; the actual nail polish. I find that certain brands chip faster than others, no matter the results. My favorite brands to use are: Trust Fund Beauty (literally my favorite nail polish company to ever exist – just go check out their website and you’ll see why), OPI, Revlon, Julie G by Jesse’s Girl, and Pacifica. Some of them are a little more expensive, like $15 a bottle, but the color and the quality are so very worth it.


Eyeliner :Splurge or Save

It is worth it to me to have a product that is not only easy to apply, but also long-lasting. I wear eyeliner everyday, but also I have like zero hand-eye coordination, so I really need a flawless look that is easy to apply. I have found a product like that. It’s been my favorite for the past year. It was recommended to me by my best friend’s roommate (whose Mother is a make-up Guru from what I’ve heard). The best part about it is that I don’t have to splurge to get it. It’s Milani’s Eye Tech Perfection Liquid Eyeliner, and it’s the best product I’ve found under 10 bucks EVER. I know, I’ve blogged about it before here, but I can’t help it. It’s my ride-or-die beauty product. It’s the Clyde to my Bonnie, the Louise to my Thelma. It’s listed at $8.49 on their website, and it’s worth it. I actually ten to buy a three-pack off Amazon because it’s something I use so often. It is all I ever wanted in an eyeliner, and if it ever gets discontinued, you will be able to find me curled up in a fetal position in a pool of my own tears, because I have no idea what I would do without it.


Mascara : Splurge or Save

This is also something that I find needs to be good. I’ve tried a bunch of different brands, but I’ve got to say there’s one brand that’s stolen my heart. One brand that I always come back to, no matter how many drug-store mascaras I try. tarte. Their mascara is above-and-beyond all other mascaras. It is, hands-down, the best mascara I have ever used. It doesn’t clump, which is something I’ve found near impossible to find in any of the cheaper mascaras. It also makes your lashes look long and luscious, to the point where my best friend asked me if I was wearing fake lashes when I first started using it. Yea, it’s that good. If there’s a better, and cheaper, product out there, I haven’t found it yet. I currently am using the lights, camera, lashes™
double-ended lash primer & 4-in-1 mascara. It’s $22, but I have to say I’m pretty happy with it. I have in the past only been using the tarte to go™ deluxe lights, camera, lashes™ 4-in-1 mascara in the past for $10, so you can expect a review on the double-ended lash primer & 4-in-1 mascara sometime very soon in the near future.


Eyeshadow : Splurge or Save

I wear eyeliner and mascara more often than I wear eyeshadow, which is why I would splurge on those and save on eyeshadow. But the other reason is because there are a lot of cheaper brands out there that do just as good of a job as the big boys do. ExpertWear® eye shadow quads from Maybelline are around $6.25, and they come with four colors and two eyeshadow applicators. AND, they are good. Very good. In my opinion, that’s a great price for a four-color palette. Especially one that looks so good. NYX also has some great eyeshadows for a reasonable price.


Make-Up Remover : Splurge or Save

I will always splurge on skin-related products, and here’s why; I have extremely sensitive, dry skin. So I have to treat it right to keep it happy. Things like lotion, face wash and make-up remover need to be splurged on in order to keep healthy. However, I have found a product that is not only good to my skin, but it also gets everything off at the end of the day. The best part; it’s not over-priced. I’m talking about Neutrogena’s Makeup Remover Cleansing Towelettes. I originally started using them because that is what my mom used, but I continued using them because they are good and not too pricy. I’ve seen other brands cost $15-$20, and I have tried them. I don’t like them. Neutrogena’s face wipes cost around $6.49 – $6.99, and for 25 towelettes (almost a whole month’s worth! longer if you don’t wear make-up everyday) is a pretty good deal.


Now I just have one last, quick thing to say about the above list. This list is just my personal opinion. When it all comes down to it, what is most important to you is what makes it worth the splurge – like if you never paint your nails it’s probably not worth the splurge. But if you wear lipstick everyday, it could be worth spending $30 on a lipstick to you. It’s all about you. This is just the list of what I found is worth splurging and saving on for me.

Another quick tip : Something else that I try to do across the board, no matter the type of make-up, is to find vegan, cruelty free, etc. brands. Because I find no matter the price, whether they are more or less expensive, their make-up usually tends to be pretty high quality.

That’s it! That’s all I’ve got friends! What do you think of my list? Do you agree? Do you disagree? Do you have anything you would like to add to the list? Do you have anything at all to say about anything written above? Comment below and let me know!!! Thanks so much 🙂


Disclaimer: None of the above pictures belong to me. No copyright infringement intended. Please contact me if any of the above images belong to you that you would like removed. Thanks!

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

Follow Onio on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 332 other followers

