Skip to content

Abercrombie’s Comeback?

One fine afternoon while stuffing my face with Chinese food (because who doesn’t like Chinese Food?) I got a text from a friend of mine that read, “You should write a blog post about Abercrombie’s comeback.”

I read the words once or twice, thinking back to the Abercrombie & Fitch of my youth. I shuddered at the thought. But I had heard recently that Abercrombie was trying to reinvent themselves, so I thought I would give their new clothes a look. I hadn’t looked at anything Abercrombie in at least 6 or 7 years, probably longer.

So when I pulled up the website I had to say I was pretty shocked. Their new products looked… good? Abercrombie’s new style featured many outfits that I would wear now, aside from the graphic tees and shredded jeans, neither of which are really my thing. Their stuff was simple, elegant, and (dare I say it) chic.

CLASSIC TRENCH COAT

Take, for example, the above outfit. Looks pretty chic to me, no? Especially the coat. If you had asked me before who made that coat, Abercrombie & Fitch would not be the first brand name that would come to my mind. To be honest, the name initially wouldn’t even be on my radar.

RIBBED V-NECK SWEATER IN BURGUNDY

Another example is the above sweater. It looks to me like a sweater from Anne Taylor LOFT. But it isn’t. Abercrombie’s new collections have something their old clothes didn’t; style. Not only that, but the quality of the clothing appears to be a lot higher than what I had come to expect from Abercrombie in the past (although until I’ve worn them I can’t completely vouch for the quality of the clothes, but the appearance get’s an A for sure).

PLAID TWILL SHIRT

The image above shows an outfit that I’m absolutely obsessed with, shoes and all. Believe me when I say that the last thing I thought I would ever have to say about an outfit from Abercrombie & Fitch was, “I’m absolutely obsessed.” But it’s true, I am. They’ve done a complete overhaul. Their new style is classy and cool. However they’ve done it, Abercrombie has changed their brand. I’m not the only blogger who’s noticed, either.

When I typed “Abercrombie comeback” into the search bar, the first 4-5 pages are filled with articles on Abercrombie’s brand make-over. Every single one from 2015 has stated that a comeback is very possibly on the horizon for Abercrombie & Fitch. Man Repeller, a fashion blog run by Leandra Medine, even went so far as to say that, “Abercrombie & Fitch May Be the Comeback Kid of 2015.” It may be a bold statement, but honestly, why not? From what I’ve seen so far of the “new” Abercrombie & Fitch is an image that I definitely like. Aside from the clothes, I’ve heard the brand is also focusing on being more inclusive of all women, not just some with a specific body type. It’s always a plus when any company gets off their high horse and realizes that they can’t choose their customers based off of their weight. Will their new efforts be enough to overcome their previously less-than-stellar reputation? For me, I think that Abercrombie has all the tools at their disposal to become a success, but only time will tell for sure if this brand reinvention is a triumph or a failure.

To peruse Abercrombie & Fitch’s new style for yourself, go to their website by clicking here! Do you think Abercrombie successfully reinvented its brand? Do you think the company will make the predicted comeback? Why or why not? Let me know what you think in the comments below!


Disclaimer: None of the above images are mine. All of them belong to Abercrombie & Fitch. If any picture in any of my posts (including this one) belongs for you and you wish for me to remove it, please contact me and I will take it down immediately. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

Follow Onio on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 332 other followers

