Skip to content

Ring In The New Year In A New Way

I have not blogged in a while, friends, but I do have a good excuse! I went on vacation with my family (the beach was lovely, I miss the sun so much now that I’m back) and then met my friends up in the great white Northeastern U.S. (seriously, there were single digit temperatures… what the heck) for New Year’s.

Now that I’m back and settling in, I thought I would sit down and take a few minutes to write about this cool thing I’m doing for the New Year. I can’t take full credit, because I read it on Buzzfeed (shocking, I know). I’ve never been one to make New Year’s Resolutions, if I have something I wanna change I don’t wait until New Year’s, I just make the change. Anyway, after seeing this cool idea, I decided I might partake. It’s called Rememberlutions, and you can read the original post from Buzzfeed that inspired me here.

For those of you that don’t feel like reading that or clicking on the link, here’s a brief summary of what Rememberlutions are;

Basically, you get a mason jar and decorate it anyway you like. As there is crafting involved in this little activity, I couldn’t help myself. It can be as simple or as decked out as you would like because it’s your jar. It’s for you and only you, no need to impress anyone else.

After your jar is decorated, you can leave it anywhere you like (mine is currently in my room). Then, over the course of the new year, anytime you accomplish anything or do something that makes you proud (no matter how big or small or personal or impersonal it is) you write it down on a little slip of paper and drop it in your jar.

At the end of 2015, you can empty out the jar and read all of the awesomeness you accomplished in the past year.

To me, that seems better than a resolution you most likely won’t keep (unless you are like super-dedicated to New Year’s resolutions… if that’s you kudos, all I know is that’s not me.) It seems to me like a nice, positive and pretty cool way to start the New Year.

So, I went ahead and made one. Here’s a picture of it. I think it’s pretty rad.

IMG_5383

Thoughts? Questions? Just wanna say hi? Comment below or message me directly! I would love to hear from people.

Leave a Reply

Follow Onio on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 332 other followers

